RERU Immigration


Foreign citizens seeking refuge in Canada typically fear persecution, are in grave danger and cannot find safety in their native country. People recognized as refugees are allowed to reside in Canada and can apply for permanent residency status and eventually become Canadian citizens. The Refugee Protection Division of the Immigration and Refugee Board (IRB) is an independent tribunal that will determine whether an applicant will receive refugee status. In some circumstances, such as those involving criminality or security concerns, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada makes the decision (IRCC).

There are two general types of refugees: persons in need of protection and convention refugees. However, in situations such as refugees who do not qualify under any of these groups, they may still qualify for protection under the country of asylum class.

Revocation of source country class

As of 2011, refugees were also able to enter Canada under the source country class, which was for those who lived in a country that was designated as a source country. The countries listed as source countries were the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Sudan, El Salvador, Guatemala, Colombia and Sierra Leone. These refugees must have been victims of civil war or armed conflict and suffered from severe deprivation of their right to freedom of expression or lawful exercise of their civil rights related to disagreement or trade union activity or face detention or imprisonment, as a result, will be doing. They also feared persecution because of race, religion, nationality, membership in a social group or political opinion in their country.

Refugees can no longer apply to enter Canada in this class, however, unless a source country application has already passed the selection decision stage, existing source country applications are no longer in the Convention refugee and asylum class abroad. of countries are being checked for eligibility under both.

Study or Work in Your Dream